Nobody should have to read release notes to avoid data loss; there should never be a change such that someone who hasn't read the release notes (or missed a detail in reading them) to avoid such a problem.
You're holding others to a standard that you yourself haven't adhered to. Please go read the release notes. No mention anywhere that old undo data will be deleted.
Also, what's up with people claiming that the undo files are stored under ~/.cache? That's completely made up. Or that persistent undo doesn't persist edit history, against what the docs say. Utter nonsense.
Or in the OPs case, installed a totally different application and was surprised by an incompatibility.